Mad-Max-Fury-Road
A visually stunning film. Just try not to focus too much on all the orange and blue.

I saw Mad Max: Fury Road at the cinema earlier this year and was blown away. I was completely drawn in by the cohesion, depth and detail of the film’s vision and environment; and its pacing, action and cinematography all seemed perfect. For sheer entertainment value it ranked as one of the best movies I’ve ever seen and this is in large part because, unusually for a film dealing with this kind of subject matter, it’s a very clever and lovingly-crafted film. I’ve been excited ever since about it coming out on Blu-ray and have looked forward immensely to watching it in 3D.

I’ve never spent £20 on a single Blu-ray or DVD before but didn’t hesitate in this case. The package comes with a 3D Blu-ray disc, standard Blu-ray disc, and that Ultraviolet download code I never use. After firing up the movie the 3D picture looks stunning. The 3D effects are impressive and not overdone, but the clarity of the picture and the colour depth is just absolutely beautiful. It’s a feast for the eyes and to me definitely felt worth the extra five quid for a film I plan to watch many times. Having read recently about ‘orange and blue contrast in movies’ I was annoyed to find myself focusing on this, as the film does use those colours pretty much exclusively throughout. But I’m sure I’ll just get used to this in future and stop noticing it so much.

The one problem with our experience of watching the 3D Blu-ray was that around halfway through the film, the picture started ‘jumping’, and eventually this became so bad we had to turn the 3D off. This is something we have noticed before on other 3D Blu-rays but not as bad as it was here. What I expect is that this is not to do with the disc itself but rather to do with my TV settings. I looked the problem up online afterwards and think it comes from one of the motion smoothing settings on my 3DTV. I’ve since changed the setting and will try to remember to post an update next time I watch the disc. Again, I emphasise that I seriously doubt this is anything to do with the disc itself, but rather one of the more general pitfalls you can encounter when trying to watch movies in 3D. But the bits we saw that worked properly in 3D were just stunning and I’m still happy I bought the 3D version, and keen to give it another try.

There’s not much else I want to say about the movie here except to repeat that it is one of the freshest and most complete action films I have ever seen. It should be an object lesson to anyone looking to make an effective action film and feels like the antithesis of the standard idiotic action fare churned out by Hollywood. If you haven’t seen it and you are remotely interested in action movies then I can’t recommend it highly enough. Apparently George Miller has more films planned in the current Mad max story arc; I can’t wait. Fury Road is hugely important not just as a terrific film in its own right but also as a rejoinder to Western movie studios for their output of largely moronic and listless action movies.

10/10

